The Fruit of the Spirit

Galatians 5:22-23 is a very common Bible passage.

But how often do we really stop and look at this passage?

The first thing commonly overlooked is Paul’s poor grammar.

The fruit of the Spirit IS….

Is?

The word “fruit” is like the word “moose” it can be both singular and plural.

The word “is” is commonly used for a singular subject

For example:

One moose IS chowing down on the fruit.

The word “are” is used for plural subjects.

For example:

All of the moose ARE experiencing the after effects of eating too much fruit.

So my problem is that in the New International Version of the Bible, Galatians 5:22-23 says the fruit of the Spirit is

There is more than one kind of fruit listed. Why would Paul say is? Shouldn’t he say that the fruit of the spirit are…? OK that does not sound right either….

The New Century Version says:

“But the Spirit produces the fruit of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control…” Galatians 5:22-23

I like the fact that the word Spirit comes first in this version. The fruit of the Spirit is/are not about the fruit, but about the Spirit.

It’s simple cause and effect.

When you have the Spirit, you show the fruit.

Let me say that again.

When you have the Spirit, you show the fruit.

Christ followers are not called to show the fruit so they can get the Sprit.

The Sprit comes into the Christ followers FIRST, THEN the fruit is produced. The Spirit works in your life and you develop the fruit.

Are you limited to growing only the Spirit’s fruit? Can you grow different fruit?

Some of you may still be confused by the whole fruit thing… allow me to explain.

You are a tree.

Worse, you are a fruit tree.

Yep, you are a fruit grower.

Accept it. You have no choice.

You can choose where you are planted. You can be planted in the Holy Spirit (Spirit/God/Jesus/Etc.) or you can choose to be planted in the alternative potting options listed in Galatians 5:19-21

“19 The wrong things the sinful self does are clear: being sexually unfaithful, not being pure, taking part in sexual sins,20 worshiping gods, doing witchcraft, hating, making trouble, being jealous, being angry, being selfish, making people angry with each other, causing divisions among people,21 feeling envy, being drunk, having wild and wasteful parties, and doing other things like these. I warn you now as I warned you before: Those who do these things will not inherit God’s kingdom.”

Hummm these things sound like fun! I wonder what my fruit would look like if I potted myself in these things instead of in God….

It says in verse 21 that I would not inherit God’s kingdom. That sound pretty bad…

Hummm… well lets think

Well I know that the last time I got angry, I got sent to my room.

But one time when I was self-controlled, I got praised.

Sometimes no one notices when I show good fruit.

When I plant myself in poor fruit, I usually feel unhappy.

It is hard to be planted in God all of the time, but when I am I usually feel better and happier.

Leave a Reply

