Alarm Clock

Promptly at 5:40 every morning my alarm goes off.
Promptly at 5:41 every morning a little piece of me dies.
You can quote me Psalm 118:24 “This is the day the LORD has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it” But I reply with Ecclesiastes 5:12 “The sleep of a laboring man is sweet…”
Somedays I wish I never had to get out of bed. All I want to do all day is go back to bed. The people I encounter annoy me and seem just as unhappy as me to go through the long, challenging day.
I feel overworked and overtired. I’ve only been back to school for three weeks and I’m already tired of the same monotony every day. I have become so consumed with all the unpleasant things I encounter in the day I forget the good things.
At times I feel like getting through the day is as tough as parting the Red Sea.
Hey, didn’t someone do that?
 Moses parted the Red Sea.
Look at what Moses said immediately after the he and the Israelites crossed the Red Sea in Exodus 15.
Yes, I really want you to go to biblegateway.com or open your bible and read Exodus 15.
Thank you.
Now look to the second verse of this passage. It says “The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation…”
That same phrase from Moses is quoted three more times in the Bible. (Psalm 28:7, Psalm 118:14, and Isaiah 12:2.
I don’t think I have ever been quoted once. How great would it be to be quoted three times and in the Bible!?
There is power behind Moses’ words “The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation”
When I awake with these words in my heart the day does not look so dull after all. Instead, the day becomes full of opportunity. It makes me want to share the love of Christ with my teachers and friends and the randoms I encounter at Wal*mart (yes, even those on peopleofwalmart.com).
I will try to start everyday by going in the joy and the strength of the Lord so that the next night I can have the sweet sleep of a laboring man talked about in Ecclesiastes 5:12.
Perhaps I will write Exodus 15:2 next to my alarm clock.
frank colarusso-assistant program director

Leave a Reply

