Getting into God

This past week, I had the opportunity to take a break from Miracle Camp life and talk to students at Mattawan Middle School about reading.  Reading is something that I have become passionate about over the last few years thanks to IWU… I never realized what I was missing!

At the end of my presentation, I was taking questions from the students- as any good presenter would do. One student asked “How do you get into a book that just does not seem all that interesting to you- even if all of your friends say it is great?”

My answer surprised me.

I told him to stick with it. I told him that it sometimes takes time to get into a book. I told him to keep trying until he gets it.

I’m not trying to be over spiritual, but I realized that my answer could also relate to Christianity.

How many times have you wanted to get into the Bible- get into worship- get into spirituality- but felt that you just couldn’t?

I know I have been there.

The answer is simple.

Stick with it. It takes time. Keep trying.

Frank Colarusso-Assistant Program Director

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by deejak on December 4, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I know I have been there as well Frank…I needed this today especially as I feel withdrawn at times …Since I’ve been rededicated to my faith…it seems as if I lose interest and miss a day of bible reading and the next thing I know its been 3 days of missed readings. I have committed myself to reading daily and I will continue to do so…Thanks again Frank.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

